View Page As PDF
Share Button
Tweet Button

Following two long years of jockeying by multiple legislators, Rep. Cliff Rosenberger (R-Clarksville) emerged as the next Speaker of the House of Representatives following a caucus vote this week. The Clinton County Republican will assume the top House leadership position in January, replacing Speaker Bill Batchelder (R-Medina), who could not run again due to term limits.

The balance of the Republican leadership team was also selected for the 131st General Assembly. Joining the Speaker-Elect, State Representative Ron Amstutz (R-Wooster) will serve as Speaker Pro Tempore, Rep. Sears will serve as the Majority Floor Leader, and State Representative Jim Buchy (R-Greenville) will serve as Assistant Majority Floor Leader. The House Republican Whip team will include State Representative Mike Dovilla (R-Berea) as the Majority Whip and State Representative Dorothy Pelanda (R-Marysville) as the Assistant Majority Whip.

“It is with deep appreciation, honor and humbleness that I have been chosen by my constituents to again represent them at the Statehouse and also that I have been selected by my esteemed colleagues as the new Speaker of the Ohio House,” said Rep. Rosenberger.

The official swearing in of new members and leadership positions will occur the first week of January during opening day ceremonies in Columbus.

Rep. Rosenberger is currently serving his second term at the Ohio House of Representatives. He represents the 91st House District, which includes Clinton, Highland and Pike counties, and parts of Ross County. An Air Force Veteran, Rep. Rosenberger also served as the national political events coordinator for Gov. Mitt Romney’s presidential campaign, and was Special Assistant to the U.S. Secretary of the Interior, Dirk Kempthorne, while consistently being an active member and community leader in his hometown of Clarksville.