View Page As PDF
Share Button
Tweet Button

House Democrats this week selected their new leadership team for the 131st General Assembly.

Representative Fred Strahorn (D-Dayton) was elected to the highest minority leadership position, House Democratic Leader, edging out former Ohio Democratic Party Chair David Leland (D- Columbus). Leland, who returns to the House after serving a term in the 1980s, was viewed as a strong contender for the post, but pulled his name from consideration early this week.

Rounding out the Democratic leadership team will be Rep. Nicholas Celebrezze (D-Parma) serving as Assistant Democratic Leader; Rep. Kevin Boyce (D-Columbus), Democratic Whip; and Rep. Nickie J. Antonio (D-Lakewood), Assistant Democratic Whip.

“I am honored to have the support of my colleagues and constituents as we prepare for the challenges and opportunities our state faces,” said Rep. Strahorn.

Leader-Elect Strahorn returns to a leadership position in the House, having previously served as House Democratic Whip in the 127th General Assembly. Strahorn, now serving his second consecutive term, was initially elected to the House in 2000 after serving as an aide in the state legislature. Following four terms as a House lawmaker, Strahorn served in the Ohio Senate for two years, completing the term of Sen. Tom Roberts.

The leadership team and incoming legislators are expected to be sworn in during the first week of January at the Ohio Statehouse.